At My Own Pace

130384-Life-Is-Not-A-Competition
Recently I have been reading ‘Discover Your Destiny’ by Robin Sharma.There are beautiful lessons on each page which are not motivational but transformational.It is truly a fact that motivation dies but discipline stays.

Unlike other books,I am reading this one very slowly so that I am able to absorb each and every word and apply it in my life.I have always been wondering that why I feel so disillusioned at times despite the fact that I read so many spiritual writings and listen to great people around who are always high in positivity.Although I have not finished reading the book yet I am satisfied to discover the cause of my state.
I came across the following lines which struck very hard on my madness to change my fretful nature :

Personal transformation is not a race.Actually,sometimes the harder you try to change,the longer it takes.So many people treat self discovery like an extreme sport – rushing to get all their healing at a frenetic pace.They read book after book.they visit guide after guide and attend seminar after seminar.They want to know the answers to the big questions they are struggling with.But someone who cannot sit in the mystery of their lives and enjoy the process of personal growth is a person in fear.”

I felt as if the above mentioned lines are written for me for I have been taking transformation as a personal challenge and so failing to apply change in my life,I suffered breakdowns.I have been forcing things on myself at a hurried pace without knowing its true benefits.It was like whenever I came across something positive,I immediately tried implementing it without accepting the challenges or discipline that accompany or is wanted with that good.It was as if I was creating a false sense of security thinking that it would be a nice way of alleviating pain.Rather bringing change slowly, one at a time,I have been acting madly to be the best of myself.I have tried being an open book so that I feel I am very clear and pristine.However now I realize,Kaizen technique is what I need to apply in my life.Rather than rushing for gulping the best that is available around,I need to choose what suits me the best and then absorb,no matter how much time it takes.
I used to get super excited whenever I read people’s stories of self discovery thinking such miracles would happen with me too.I failed to realize that it is a personal experience that varies from person to person.It happens with those who identify their fears and the barriers which have been hampering their inner growth and then seek cheerful ways to rise above them.It is an ongoing perennial process that works on eternal hope and self acceptance.

17 thoughts on “At My Own Pace

Add yours

  1. This makes so much sense. In fact, when I read this, I felt as though I was hurrying through my Self Discovery too juggling so many things at a time, having no breathing space whatsoever. Through your post you spoke to me. And you did well to read it slowly. All motivational books should be read slowly so that you assimilate every word and sentence and act on them. ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved your writing. Do drop by my blog too when you find time. Hope to be in touch ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. i read each word carefully and this quote”motivation dies but discipline stays” is life line.what is written here is eventually true for me.I want to do a lot of things and expect result immediately.But its not possible.it takes time.life needs to be go with flow.I made many plans,nothing works.So I decided its good not have a plan.If you have plans,and i didn’t work,you will feel disturbed.I started blogging because I thought,when will you think?you are inspired by someone,by some book,some person,some speech,But when it will come to end.when will you stop taking motivation from others.Now its your time.
    through motto”I’m being I’m”,my life himself keep going and I’m trying to enjoy every moment of me.Whenever i see the people living at roads without a bed of roses,are they not human?i learn living life from them.just full fill your needs not greed as mahatma gandhi once said.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes well said dear friend!Plans also do not work for me,and going with the flow is what I need to tell myself many times a day! Well by discipline,I too meant that as long as we are drawing motivation from external factors,it will eventually perish one day therefore self inspiration is the best and lasts forever.
      And yes only if we can open our eyes,we will be able to see how fortunate we are!
      Thanks for reflecting back.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

